The Piobaireachd Society recommends the following lists of tunes for competitions in 2017:


In Praise of Morag PS 1, K
The Prince’s Salute PS 1, K
The Unjust Incarceration PS 2, K
Colin Roy MacKenzie’s Lament PS 3, K
Craigellachie PS 6, K
Ronald MacDonald of Morar’s Lament PS 8, K
My Dearest on Earth give me Your Kiss PS 11
Rory MacLoude’s Lament PS 11

Competitors will submit four of the above tunes, one of which they will be required to play.


Nameless: ‘Hiharin dro o dro’ PS 4, K
The Park Piobaireachd No 2 PS 4, K
The King’s Taxes PS 5, K
The MacDougalls’ Gathering PS 5, K
Beloved Scotland PS 6, K
The Vaunting PS 7, K
Lady MacDonald’s Lament PS 8, K
Lord Lovat’s Lament PS 9, K

Competitors will submit four of the above tunes, one of which they will be required to play.


Group 1 Tunes from PS Book 16, published in 2015

Hail to My Country PS 16
Lord Berisdale’s Salute PS 16
The Sword’s Lament PS 16
Rev. Dr Norman MacLeod’s Lament PS 16

Group 2 Tunes composed by Pipe Major Donald MacLeod

Cronan Phadruig Seumas DM Book 3
Lament for John Morrison of Assynt House PS 20th Century Ceol Mor
Lament for The Iolaire DM Piobaireachd Collection
Roderick MacDonald’s Salute DM Piobaireachd Collection

Competitors will submit two tunes from each group, one of which they will be required to play.

PS = Piobaireachd Society Collection K = Kilberry Book of Ceol Mor DM = Donald MacLeod

DM Book 3 is one of the books in Donald MacLeod’s light music collection.

Competitors are not restricted to settings specified above. Those who wish to play alternative settings should submit legible scores, indicating the origins of the settings, to competition organisers along with their tune selections.

A wide range of source materials and alternative settings is available on the Piobaireachd Society website at: and on other piping websites.

Altogether different tunes known by the same or similar names will not be accepted as alternatives.

This announcement is without prejudice to any arrangements made by the Argyllshire Gathering or the Northern Meeting.

For the Music Committee
Alan Forbes, Honorary Secretary
24 Garscube Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 6BN