Set Tunes 2010

The Piobaireachd Society recommends the following arrangements for competitions in 2010:


The following pairs of tunes are recommended:

1.The Sister’s Lament PS 4 p109, K p41
 Nameless (Angus Mackay’s MS)PS 4 p111, K p42
2.The Battle of Glenshiel PS 4 p124
 A GlasePS 11 p320
3.Duncan MacRae of Kintail’s Lament PS 4 p121, K p40
 Nameless (Colin Campbell’s Canntaireachd MS)PS 4 p124, K p43
4.The Old Woman’s Lullaby PS 4 p113, K p39
 The Aged Warrior’s SorrowPS 12 p360
5.Lament for Red Hector of the Battles PS 4 p111, K p42
 The Middling SpreePS 11 p322
6.The Park Piobaireachd No.1 PS 4 p113, K p46
 The Pretty DirkPS 11 p318
7.Nameless Lament (MacArthur MS) PS 13 p420 or 421 but not p423
 Lament for the Bishop of ArgyllPS 15 p509
8.Salute on the Birth of Rory Mor MacLeod PS 4 p121, K p38
 Left HandPS 14 p489

Competitors will submit  three pairs from the above list, one of which they will be required to play. Tunes may be played in any order. Prizes will be awarded for performance over the two tunes.

Settings of these tunes different from those specified will be acceptable provided that the judges are advised in advance and provided with the music for the alternative setting(s) submitted. However, versions of these tunes with conventional taorluath and crunluath movements will not be acceptable. For the purpose of these competitions, only the first line of the urlar need be repeated at the end of each tune and this will be regarded as part of the performance.

Altogether different tunes known by the same or similar names will not be accepted as alternatives.

A dcoument entitled “Stories of the tunes”, which gives information about the titles of the above tunes, is available here.


Competitors will submit eight tunes of their own choice, one of which they will be required to play.


Competitors will submit six tunes of their own choice, one of which they will be required to play.

This announcement is made by the Piobaireachd Society to ensure earliest publication. It is without prejudice to any arrangements made by either the Argyllshire Gathering or the Northern Meeting.